Planning Committee

Thursday 9 December 2021

PRESENT:

Councillor R Smith, in the Chair.
Councillor Wakeham, Vice Chair.
Councillors Corvid, Cresswell, Derrick, Dr Mahony, Nicholson, Partridge, Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman and Tuffin.

Absent from the meeting: Councillor Morris.

Also in attendance: Stuart Wingfield (Head of Development Planning), Julie Parkin (Senior Lawyer), Alistair Wagstaff (Strategic Developments Manager), Mike Stone (Planning Officer), Emily Godwin (Planning Officer), Chris King (Planning Officer), Dan Thorning (Housing Delivery Officer), Gary Lester (Transport Planning Officer), Thomas Westrope (Development Delivery Officer), Jamie Sheldon (Senior Governance Advisor) and Jake Metcalfe (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and finished at 7.16 pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

56. **Declarations of Interest**

The following declarations were made by members in accordance with the code of conduct.

Name	Minute	Reason	Interest
Councillor Tuffin	Minute 62 – Land off	On the Board of	Personal
	Coombe Way	Plymouth Community	
		Homes	
Councillor Dr Mahony	Minute 61 – 17 Thorn	Friend of the applicant	Personal
	Park		
Councillor Dr Mahony	Minute 62 – Land off	Investor in Plymouth	Personal
	Coombe Way	Energy Renewals	
Councillor Smith	Minute 61 – 17 Thorn	Applicant known to them.	Personal
	Park		

57. **Minutes**

Agreed the minutes of the meeting held on 11 November 2021.

58. Chair's Urgent Business

The Chair reported that due to technical issues votes would be taken manually by a poll vote.

59. Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public.

60. Planning Applications for consideration

The Committee considered the following applications, development proposals by local authorities and statutory consultations submitted under the Town and Country Planning Act, 1990, and the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservations Areas) Act, 1990.

61. Former Western National Bus Depot, Embankment Road Plymouth PL4 9LQ - 21/00218/FUL

Goldmix Limited

Decision:

Defer the application to enable the Viability process in relation to Section 106 requests to be undertaken and completed by March 2022.

(This item taken first to facilitate good meeting management).

62. 5 First Avenue Billacombe Plymouth PL9 8AP - 21/01637/FUL

Mr and Mrs Baynon

Decision:

Application GRANTED conditionally.

(The Committee heard from Councillor Churchill, Ward Councillor).

(The Committee heard from Mr Bayliss, objector).

(The Committee heard from Mr Honey, Agent).

(A site visit took place on 8 December 2021).

63. 17 Thorn Park Plymouth PL3 4TG - 21/01616/FUL

Mr A Sanders

Decision:

Grant conditionally subject to Condition 4 to be delegated to the Service Director of Strategic Planning and Infrastructure in consultation with Ward Councillors to ensure that the stone and stone cladding are in keeping with the historic environment. Proposed by Councillor Stevens and seconded by Councillor Nicholson.

(The Committee heard from Councillor Johnson, Ward Councillor).
(The Committee heard from Mr Johnson, Objector).
(The Committee heard from Mr Sanders, applicant).
(A site visit took place on 8 December 2021).

64. Land Off Coombe Way Kings Tamerton Plymouth - 21/01038/OUT

PEC Homes

Decision:

PS106 Grant subject to S106 Outline subject to Condition 6 being delegated to the Service Director of Strategic Planning and Infrastructure in consultation with Ham Ward Councillors. Proposed by Councillor Stevens and seconded by Councillor Corvid.

The Committee wanted to record their appreciation to Chris King and wished him every success in his new role.

(The Committee heard a written statement from Councillor Wheeler, Ward Councillor).

(The Committee heard from Mr MacPherson, applicant). (A site took place on 8 December 2021).

65. Planning Enforcement

The Committee noted the Planning Enforcement Report.

66. Planning Application Decisions Issued

The Committee noted the report from the Assistant Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure on decisions issued since the last meeting.

67. **Appeal Decisions**

The Committee noted the schedule of appeal decisions made by the Planning Inspectorate.

VOTING SCHEDULE 9 DECEMBER 2021 (Pages 5 – 6)



PLANNING COMMITTEE - 9 December 2021

SCHEDULE OF VOTING

	ute number and lication	Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
61	Former Western National Bus Depot, Embankment Road Plymouth PL4 9LQ - 21/00218/FUL Defer the application to enable the Viability process in relation to Section 106 requests to be undertaken and completed by March 2022.	Councillors R Smith, Wakeham, Corvid, Cresswell, Derrick, Dr Mahony, Nicholson, Partridge, Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman and Tuffin.				Councillor Morris
62	5 First Avenue Billacombe Plymouth PL9 8AP - 21/01637/FUL GRANTED conditionally.	Councillors R Smith, Wakeham, Corvid, Cresswell, Derrick, Dr Mahony, Nicholson, Partridge and Shayer.	Councillor Stevens	Councillors Stoneman and Tuffin		Councillor Morris
63	17 Thorn Park Plymouth PL3 4TG - 21/01616/FUL Grant conditionally subject to Condition 4 to be delegated to the Service Director of Strategic Planning and Infrastructure in consultation with Ward Councillors to ensure that the stone and stone cladding are in keeping with the historic environment. Proposed by Councillor Stevens and seconded by Councillor Nicholson.	Councillors R Smith, Wakeham, Corvid, Cresswell, Derrick, Nicholson, Partridge, Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman and Tuffin.		Councillor Dr Mahony		Councillor

	ute number and lication	Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
64	Land Off Coombe Way Kings Tamerton Plymouth - 21/01038/OUT	Councillors R Smith, Wakeham, Cresswell,		Councillors Corvid and Stevens.		Councillor Morris
	PS106 Grant subject to S106 Outline subject to Condition 6 being delegated to the Service Director of Strategic Planning and Infrastructure in consultation with Ham Ward Councillors. Proposed by Councillor Stevens and seconded by Councillor Corvid.	Derrick, Dr Mahony, Nicholson, Partridge, Shayer, Stoneman and Tuffin.				